The 55th Annual Maryland Asphalt Association Paving Conference was truly a special day for the asphalt industry in Maryland. This year’s conference hosted more than 350 attendees from both industry and State Highway Administration. Special guest Governor Larry Hogan presented the Governor’s Citation to commend the Association on its 55 years of industry recognition and education.   The agenda included presentations by industry experts, University of Maryland College of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Maryland DOT, State and Federal Highway speakers culminating with the “Excellence in Paving” awards for projects completed in 2016.


Mike Moses – MAA Board Member, Governor Larry Hogan, Marshall Klinefelter – MAA President

Photo Courtesy of Executive Office of the Governor

Project Winners

George & Lynch, Inc.

Primary Resurfacing

District 1 Salisbury WO186B51/WO1865177 MD 528 –  DE St. Ln. to 62 St.

Donnie Eastburn, Earl Ward, Stephanie Jackson, Brian Gsell, Dean Vincent, Steve Green, Anthony Taddeo, Rory Van Brackel

P. Flanigan & Sons, Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 4 Hunt Valley BA293D54/XX3665177 I-83 NB & SB –  Exit 33 to Dairy Rd. Bridge

Matt Saunders, Ray Randall, Rodney Gillis

Gray & Son, Inc.

Secondary Resurfacing

District 4 Hunt Valley BA953D52/BA9535277 MD 138 –  Monkton to JM Pearce Rd.

Butch Matthews, Julieanne Reall, Tom Webber, Chuck Blankenship, Kenny Ditto 

Aggregate Industries

Primary Reconstruction

District 5 Annapolis AA269D51/AA2695130 Rt. 2 @ Owensville-Sudley Rd.

Ronnie Lotz, Herb Haller, Tim Hare, Frank Marciszewski, Don Provine, Alex Cook, Tommy Clarkson

Francis O Day Co., Inc.

Primary Resurfacing

District 5 Annapolis CA149A57/XY4045177 MD 402 –  MD 2/4 to Chesapeake Ave.

Ricky Loy, Don Provine, Jim Pace, Richard Holland, Paul Hartman, Brian Loy

Aggregate Industries

Secondary Resurfacing

District 5 Annapolis CA305A51/CA3055184 MD 231 –  Heritage Blvd. to MD 765A & MD 765A –  Old Field Lane to Armory Rd.

Ronnie Lotz, , Mike Little, Herb Haller, Tim Hare, Tommy Clarkson, Bruce Stouten

Keystone Lime Co., Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 6 LaVale GA176B51/GA1765177 I-68 –  E of US 219 to E of Shade Hollow Rd.

Eddie McCarty, Butch Foreman, Vernon Wampler, Melinda Gibson, Donald Herman

C. William Hetzer, Inc.

Secondary Resurfacing

District 6 LaVale WA806B54/XY5215177 MD 34 Little Antietam Creek to King Rd.

Mike Little, Woody Carpenter, Rick Michael

C. William Hetzer, Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 6 LaVale WA922A51/WA9225177 I-70 –  CSX Railroad Bridge to MD 632

Eddie McCarty, Doug Bivens, Rick Michael

C J Miller, LLC

Primary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick CL251D53/XY5065177 MD 140 –  Royer Rd. to Mayberry Rd.

Brian Laughman, Chuck Triesh, Mark Gondeck, Roland Wilson, Mike Little, Matt Thurston

Pleasants Paving

Secondary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick FR169C5E/XY4105177 Alt 40 –  Bolivar Rd. to Washington Co.

Chuck Triesh, Mike Little, Matt Burdette, Larry Riggleman, Brian Hoover, Dan Houck , Gary Reed

Francis O Day Co., Inc.

Primary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick FR1985177/FR198A51MD 340 EB – MD 17 to Lander Rd.

Brint Downing, Rodney Hess, Dewayne Fowble, John Workman, Mike Little, Frank Lorrato, Marc Mandel

Photo Gallery


Through the generosity of the presenters we are able to offer PDF versions of the presentations:

Dr. Ahmet H. Aydilek – University of Maryland

Vince Gallettie- UTBWC and Alternatives

Tom_Harman – Innovations and how to become more Innovative

Dr. Buzz Powell – NCAT and MnRoad Combine Resources for Research

Steve Foresly – Etnyre Tack Distributors Best Management Practices

Greg Slater – MDOT EXcellerator Performance Management System

Todd Mansell – CAT – Paving for Density & Profile

Please mark your calendar for next years 2018 MAA / MD SHA 56th Annual Paving Conference.   The scheduled date is Wednesday March 14, 2018.