The 56th Annual Maryland Asphalt Association Paving Conference was a day of celebration for the asphalt industry in Maryland. This year’s conference hosted more than 375 attendees from both industry and State Highway Administration.  Safety was a predominant theme throughout the event with presentations of Work Zone Safety/ Intrusion Prevention, Heads-Up by Marshall Klinefelter, SHA Initiatives and Safety Innovations from Chief Engineer Tim Smith, and Workplace Violence & Personal Awareness by the Baltimore County Police Department.  Dr. Chuck Schwartz updated the audience on the research being conducted by U of M and industry experts prepared the audience for a great paving season.  The day peaked with the “Excellence in Paving” awards for projects completed in 2017.


MAA Chairman David Jones and President Marshall Klinefelter prepare for the Awards Ceremony.

Curt Davison from Oldcastle presents the Aware System. Perhaps the most impressive use of technology for the safety of the industries workforce.

Project Winners


Office of Materials and Technology Award

David Jonse, Chandra Akisetty, Bob Voelkel, Ron Toloczko

George & Lynch, Inc.

Secondary Resurfacing

District 1 Salisbury DO196A51/XY2495C77 MD 14 -MD 331 to Marshy Hope Creek

David Jones, Don Eastburn,  Bonnie Johnson, Anthony Taddeo, Bob Abbott, Travis Weightknecht, Rory Van Brackel, Andrew Blatzhein, Earl Ward, Ryan Taylor 

David A. Bramble, Inc.

Primary New Construction

District 2 Chestertown QA2655170 US 301 @ MD 304 Interchange Improvements

David Jones, Eddie McCarty, Michael O’Malley, Paul Bramble, Keith Harris

Francis O. Day Company, Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 3 Greenbelt PG8235177 I-95 – I-495 to 1000’ N of Old Gunpowder Rd.

David Jones, Ryan Graham, Brian Loy, Ricky Loy, Doug Hartley, Richard Holland, Vinod Vadakoot, Wes Deel, Richard Holland

P. Flanigan & Sons, Inc.

Primary Resurfacing

District 5 Annapolis AA1965177 MD 295 SB from Winterson Rd. to Hanover Rd.

David Jones, Tyson Lesesne, Mike Armiger, Carlos Croslin, Dean Janicki, Ray Randell

C. William Hetzer, Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 6 LaVale WA8705177   I 70 – Ashton Rd to W of Conococheague Creek

David Jones, Don Kyne, Chuck Cooley, Rick Michael, Steve LaRue

C J Miller, LLC

Secondary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick CL2435130R MD 31 – Tahoma Farm Rd. to Medford Rd.

David Jones, Brian Laughman, Matt Thurston, Russell Hutzell, Larry Riggleman, John Concannon

C J Miller, LLC

Primary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick CL251C5A/XY5065177 MD 97 Bachman Valley rd to Old Hanover Rd

David Jones, Matt Thurston, Dan Houck, Nick Beatty, Chuck Triesh, Russell Hutzell, Chris Sizemore, Larry Riggleman

C J Miller, LLC

Interstate Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick FR1945177 US 340 – MD 17 to Washington County Line

David Jones, Matt Thurston, John Concannon, Jolene Morris, Jake Orndorff, Jack Nelson, Larry Riggleman 

Pleasants Paving

Secondary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick FR250C53 MD 26 – Clemsonville Rd to Carroll County line

David Jones, Eddie McCarty, Brian Hoover, Chuck Triesh, Kenny Portner., Gary Reed, Dan Houck, Travis Gondeck

C J Miller, LLC

Primary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick HO131C57/XY5135177 US 1 – Baltimore Co. Line to Montgomery Rd

David Jones, Alan Klinedinst, Neal Foster, Chuck Triesh, Matt Thurston, Dan Houck, Patti Appel

Allan Myers

Special Project Award, Rehabilitation 

Maryland Transportation Authority KH2842000006 JFK Administrative Parking Lots and Access Roads & Ramps

David Jones, Chuck Wilson, Scott Kiebler, Jimmy Bahr