The 57th Annual Maryland Asphalt Association Paving Conference marked the start of the 2019 paving season with more than 475 attendees from industry, MDOT-SHA and Federal Highway Administration.  The conference provided a full day of education, exhibits and awards presentation to help members gear up for a busy season.

This year twenty-seven vendors representing asphalt suppliers, producers and contractors; testing firms; laboratory, plant and quarry equipment suppliers; FHWA; MdQI and MDOT Partnering, emulsion and additive suppliers, MDOT-SHA CHART, fleet equipment and repair demonstrated their products and answered questions to help attendees plan for the future and resolve their most pressing concerns. 

Speakers provided updates and insight on a number of topics important to attendees. 

  • Dr. Chuck Schwartz from the University of Maryland discussed renovations of the civil engineering laboratory and current activities between the university and MDOT-SHA.
  • Clarence Hackett, who trains traffic managers and flaggers at MDOT-SHA, talked about best practices to keep workers safe on job sites.
  • John Haynes from FHWA provided information about the use of unmanned aerial systems on the job and Roemer Alfelor from FHWA presented weather response management strategies.
  • Glen McLaughlin from MDOT-SHA reviewed CHART (Coordinated Highways Action Response Team) and talked about how this intelligent transportation system improves safety for the traveling public.
  • John Hampton from MDOT spoke about the e-construction program, including what is current in place and what to expect in the future.
  • Kevin Scotese from Volvo shared the latest information on intelligent compaction equipment.
  • Dr. Buzz Powell from NCAT provided a review of the latest from the asphalt test tracks.
  • Keynote speaker Howard Kellman was the long-time radio and television voice of the Triple-A Indianapolis Indians baseball team.  He spoke about what it takes to become a champion.
  • Lisa Choplin from MDOT-SHA provided an overview of the I-495 and I-270 mega-project. 
  • Todd Mansell from Caterpillar Global Paving helped attendees understand the connected worksite by discussing innovative paving equipment, technologies and practices.

Following the educational sessions, a delicious lunch, and time with the exhibitors, MAA President Marshall Klinefelter and MAA Board Member Mike Moses presented “Excellence in Paving” awards for projects completed in 2018.  Sixteen projects were recognized for their outstanding workmanship and material uniformity.  Award recipients included:  P. Flanigan & Sons, Inc. (2); Francis O. Day Co., Inc. (4); M. Luis Construction Co., Inc.; George & Lynch; David A. Bramble, Inc.; Allan Myers (3); Gray & Son, Inc.; P & W Excavating; and C J Miller, LLC (2).   

Mike Moses started the awards ceremony by presenting Dr. Chandra Akisetty, Asphalt Division Chief and Bob Voelkel, Assistant Division Chief – Laboratory Operations with the Laboratory Award for their participation on the MDOT-SHA projects. Their team members put in many hours to insure only optimal mixes are placed on Maryland roadways.

The following MAA members and vendors shared ideas and the latest equipment with conference attendees: American Paving Fabrics; Associated Asphalt; Cargill Industrial Specialties; Donegal Construction Corporation; Eagle Crusher; Earthwave Technologies; East Jordan Iron Works; FHWA; Francis O. Day, Inc.; Gray & Sons, Inc.; GT – Mid Atlantic; Hammaker-East Emulsions; Hi-Tech Paving, Inc.; Ingevity; Laney Materials, LLC; Libra Systems; Maryland Paving, Inc.; McClung-Logan Equipment Company; P. Flanigan & Sons, Inc.; Pavement Technology, Inc.; Rice Tires; SHA CHART; SHA Partnering; Specialized Engineering; Stancills, Inc; Valley Supply & Equipment

Project Winners

MdTA – P. Flanigan & Sons, Inc.

Bridge Ramp Resurfacing Award

Mike Moses, Brian Wolf, Mark Wilson,  Ken Irons, Dan Toland

Montgomery Co. DOT  – Francis O. Day. Co., Inc.

County Subdivision Resurfacing

Woodside Forest Subdivision – Silver Spring, MD

Mike Moses, Project Manager Nick Boone,  Ronny Lord, Frank Garvin

Montgomery Co. DOT  – M. Luis Construction. Co., Inc.

County  Resurfacing

Endor Road – Rt 182 to Howard County Line

Mike Moses, Walt Leizear, Mo Co. Program Manager James Kisner

George & Lynch, Inc.

Urban Primary Resurfacing

District 1 Salisbury WO1685177 MD 528 from 62nd Street to 26th Street

Mike Moses, Mohamed Tarawallie, Anthony Taddeo, Earl Ward, Don Eastburn, Ryan Taylor, Adam Legg, Andrew Blatzhein, and Project Engineer Denny Todd

David A. Bramble, Inc.

Primary Reconstruction

District 2 Chestertwon CE2925130 MD 213 and Frenchtown Rd. Geometric Improvements

Area Engineer Robert Guston, Project Engineer Tom Davis, Mike Moses, Vince Galletti, Keith Harris, Ron Tolosko

Allan Myers

Secondary Resurfacing

District 2 Chestertown CE458B56 MD 272 Mauldlin Ave. to Rt. 7 TO Irishtown Road

Area Engineer Robert Guston, Mike Moses, Chuck Wilson, Bruce Walther, Don Provine

Allan Myers

Primary Resurfacing

District 3 Greenbelt PG0475177  US 1 from Morth of ICC to Oak Street

Mike Moses, District Engineer Andre Futell, Bruce Walther, Chuck Wilson, Don Provine, Project Engineer Glenn Chase

Francis O. Day Co., Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 3 Greenbelt MO1865177 I-495 O.L. from I-270 to Seminary Ave.

District Engineer Andre Futrell, Mike Little, Ryan Graham, John Workman. Brint Dowing, Mike Moses, Brint Downing

Maryland Paving – Gray & Son, Inc.

Interchange Reconstruction

District 4 Hunt Valley HA4625130 MD 23, East West Highway at Grafton Shop Road

Mike Moses, Kenny Ditto, Ray Randall, Project Manager Sean Capps, Tom Webber Project Manager for Gray & Son

P. Flanigan & Sons, Inc.

Interstate Resurfacing

District 4 Hunt Valley BA293D5A I-695 IL from Bridge Over CSX to MD 140

Mike Moses, D’Marco Mitchell, Project Engineer Matt Saunders, Harry Kline, Chuck Blankenship, Dan Toland, Ken Irones

Allan Myers

Interstate Resurfacing

District 4 Hunt Valley BA7205277 I-695 from Greenspring Ave. to MD 25

Mike Moses, MDOT SHA Construction Area Engineer Bruce Cain, Bruce Walther, Chuck Wilson, Ray Randall

P&W Excavating

Secondary Resurfacing

District 6, LaVale, WA807B5C MD63 from MD 8463I to Teiff Church Road

Mike Moses, Mike Little, MDOT SHA Project Engineer Woody Carpenter, Frankie Plessinger

C. J. Miller, LLC

Interchange Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick HO131C5A US 29 Interchange at Gorman Road

Mike Moses, Inspector Sam Peightal, Mike Little, Allen Klinedinst, Operations Engineer Chris Lookingbill, Neal Foster, MDOT SHA ADE of Maintenance Dan Houck, Matt Thurston, Operations Engineer Chuck Triesh 

Francis O. Day Co., Inc.

Secondary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick FR689A55 – MD 76 from MD 77 to Four Points Road
Mike Moses, Rodney Hess, Frank Garvin, Mike Little, Inspector Ken Portner, Operations Engineer Chris Lookingbill, Inspector Jack Dial, Inspector Garry Reed, MDOT SHA ADE of Maintenance Dan Houck, Operations Engineer Chuck Triesh

C. J. Miller, LLC

Primary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick HO131C56 – US 1 from Montgomery Road to Kit Kat Road

Mike Moses, Chuck Blankenship, Allen Klinedinst, Operations Engineer Chris Lookingbill, Neal Foster, Matt Thurston, MDOT SHA ADE of Maintenance Dan Houck,  Operations Engineer Chuck Triesh, Sam Peightal


Francis O. Day Co., Inc.

Primary Resurfacing

District 7 Frederick FR689A55 MD 76 from MD 76 to Four Points Road

Dennis Favero, Mike Moses, Rodney Hess, Frank Garvin, Mike Little, SHA Inspector Ken Portner, Sam Operations Engineer Chris Lookingbill, SHA Inspector Jack Dial, ADE of Maintenance Dan Houck, SHA Inspector Gary Reed, Operations Engineer Chuck Triesh